Our Story

The ZETA Movement is a project created by young people for young people, which aims to break the cycle of stigma and silence related to mental health issues in Switzerland.

Unlike many physical issues, psychological illnesses and disorders are still a taboo in our society. The association wants to break the educate young people about mental health issues by employing a storytelling approach. 

 

The concept is based on the three pillars of information sharing, mental health promotion and community building. 

The core idea is to create a movement where “ambassadors”, young people that are in a late stadium of recovery, can share in an honest way their personal experiences with mental health issues. Our goal is to be operative in schools and other youth-related organizations (e.g. Scout Associations, Sports Clubs, etc.). Furthermore, the associations will focus on the building of a community, the organization of training courses for the ambassadors, and the organization and mediation between ambassadors and authorities. Another priority of the association will be to draw attention to the topic of mental health in media and in the political field.

 

The founders of the project are Giada Crivelli and Damian Stähli, two young recovered patients with vast experiences in the field of mental health. The formal creation of the association is still in progress and Giada and Damian are currently recruiting young people interested in being involved and having contacts with foundations/associations, private funders, and personalities that can share best practices and grant financial support.

The association is a non profit organization, which is not bound to any political party or creed 

The ZETA Movement is strongly inspired by the Danish anti-stigma campaign, “One of Us”, organization we are in contact with and that is currently sharing best practices with us.

While motivated by the best intentions, we lack a professional background, and, we are therefore currently seeking psychologists, psychiatrists, and NGOs that can advise us on the best way to build our movement. 

Why is our association called "Zeta Movement"

  • "Zeta" in Italian refers to the Roman and Greek letter "z";

  • Zeta is also the last letter of the latin alphabet, and perfectly reflects the aim of the association to end the stigma around mental health disorders and illnesses;

  • At the same time, we wanted to have a name and a logo that gives a message of resilience, that’s why, in our handmade watercolor logo, there are two semi-circles that go from the letter "z" to the letter "a" and vice-versa. Our implicit message here, is very similar to the semi-column one: to have a mental health illness doesn’t mean that your world ends. On the contrary, it can be the sign of a new beginning;

  • And, last but not least, the generation "Z" is the demographic cohort succeeding Millennials and Baby Boomers, to which all founders belong.

Unsere Geschichte

Das ZETA Movement ist ein Projekt von Jugendlichen für Jugendliche, das darauf abzielt, den Kreislauf von Stigmatisierung und Stille im Zusammenhang mit psychischen Erkrankungen in der Schweiz zu durchbrechen.

Im Gegensatz zu vielen körperlichen Problemen sind psychische Erkrankungen und Störungen in unserer Gesellschaft nach wie vor tabu. Der Verein will die Aufklärung junger Menschen über Fragen der psychischen Gesundheit durch einen Storytelling-Ansatz brechen. 

 

Das Konzept basiert auf den drei Säulen Informationsaustausch, Förderung der psychischen Gesundheit und Gemeinschaftsbildung. 

Die Kernidee ist es, eine Bewegung zu schaffen, in der "Botschafter", junge Menschen, die sich in einem späten Stadium der Genesung befinden, ihre persönlichen Erfahrungen mit Fragen der psychischen Gesundheit ehrlich teilen können. Unser Ziel ist es, in Schulen und anderen jugendbezogenen Organisationen (z.B. Pfadfinderverbände, Sportvereine, etc.) tätig zu sein. Darüber hinaus werden sich die Verbände auf den Aufbau einer Gemeinschaft, die Organisation von Schulungen für die Botschafter sowie die Organisation und Vermittlung zwischen Botschaftern und Behörden konzentrieren. Eine weitere Priorität des Vereins wird es sein, die Aufmerksamkeit auf das Thema psychische Gesundheit in den Medien und im politischen Bereich zu lenken.

Die Gründer des Projekts sind Giada Crivelli und Damian Stähli, zwei junge genesende Patienten mit umfangreichen Erfahrungen im Bereich der psychischen Gesundheit. Giada und Damian rekrutieren derzeit junge Menschen, die daran interessiert sind, sich zu engagieren und Kontakte zu Stiftungen/Vereinen, privaten Geldgebern und Persönlichkeiten zu pflegen, die Best Practices austauschen und finanzielle Unterstützung gewähren können.

Der Verein ist eine gemeinnützige Organisation, die an keine politische Partei oder Glaubensrichtung gebunden ist. 

Das ZETA-Movement ist stark von der dänischen Anti-Stigma-Kampagne "One of Us" inspiriert, einer Organisation, mit der wir in Kontakt stehen und die derzeit bewährte Praktiken mit uns teilen.

Obwohl motiviert mit den besten Absichten, fehlt uns ein professioneller Hintergrund, und deshalb suchen wir derzeit Psychologen, Psychiater und NGOs, die uns beraten können, wie wir unsere Bewegung am besten aufbauen können. 

Wieso heisst unser Verein "Zeta Movement"?

  • "Zeta" bezieht sich im Italienischen auf den römischen und griechischen Buchstaben "z";

  • Zeta ist auch der letzte Buchstabe des lateinischen Alphabets und spiegelt perfekt das Ziel des Vereins wider, das Stigma rund um psychische Störungen und Krankheiten zu beenden;

  • Gleichzeitig wollten wir einen Namen und ein Logo haben, das eine Botschaft der Resilienz vermittelt. Deshalb gibt es in unserem handgemalten Aquarell-Logo zwei Halbkreise, die vom Buchstaben "z" zum Buchstaben "a" und umgekehrt führen. Unsere implizite Botschaft ist hier sehr ähnlich wie die des Semikolons: eine psychische Erkrankung zu haben, bedeutet nicht, dass die Welt untergeht. Im Gegenteil, es kann das Zeichen für einen Neuanfang sein;

  • Und nicht zuletzt ist die Generation "Z" die demografische Kohorte in der Nachfolge von Millennials und Babyboomern, zu der alle Gründer gehören.